My Biggest Interview to Date

John Farris, the brainchild behind the horror website Dead, Buried and Back, interviewed me a few months back at the World Horror Convention in Austin. John filmed the entire interview, which totals almost an hour of great discussion, and recently posted it over at his site.

If you’ve got some time, please stop by and take a look. We cover a lot of ground in this interview, from disaster mitigation to the future of the horror genre, and I’m very proud of how it turned out.

Hope you like it!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Hello Joe,

    it’s Saturday morning and I am watching your youtube-interview. Very interesting!! But the audio is to low. Maybe your interviewer could remaster it.

    One thing that sticks out, was the part when you talked about your baby and the maturing effect it had on you, when you saw it at the baby-station (hopefully thats the correct word).

    I had the same experience when I was in the op room when my son was born. After I cut his umbilical cord, it was as stepping over in an other phase of my life…(I am still wondering if I do well in my new job as daddy)

    Very interesting was the part about you, your job, and the style or how you are writing.

    The self-publisher topic was interesting also. Interestingly I had a similar discussion with German blog writer, some weeks ago.

    For old guys like me, there is no way that I will change to ebook readers, but I think that the new generations are allready used to Iphone, Ipads, and ebook-readers, so that I think that the ebook sales will go up strongly.

    Ebooks are also a way – as you mentioned (if I understood correctly) – to establish a new writer.

    So have a nice weekend.

    best wishes

    Nic

    Reply
    • joemckinney

       /  August 14, 2011

      Thanks Nic. Yeah, becoming a dad really did have a huge impact on my writing. And you know, that impact continues to this day. I’ve noticed that a huge amount of my ficiton, regardless of genre, deals with the theme of guardianship. I can’t help but wonder how much of that thematic energy comes from becoming and being a dad.

      Reply
  2. Very nice interview, Joe!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 136 other followers

