Book Signing at Dark Delicacies

I just wanted to share some pictures from my book signing at Dark Delicacies back in May.  In addition to meeting two of the best hosts a man could ask for in Del and Sue Howison, I got the rare privilege of visiting with Steve and Melanie Tem and Richard Dean Starr.  Richard, as it turns out, is one of the coolest guys on the planet.  We talked about his Kolchak series and his upcoming Tales of Zorro project, which I can’t wait to read.  And the Tems were wonderful.  I think my first comment to them was something stupid like, “Do the two of you have any idea how many of the books on my shelves at home have the two of you in them?!”  Luckily for me, they are as gracious as they are talented.

And then there were these two guys:  Weston Ochse and Gene O’Neill.  We met over margaritas at a little Mexican food place down the street from Dark Delicacies and had a great time.  Gene is an ex-boxer and the author of a fantastic apocalyptic novella entitled The Confessions of St. Zach.  We talked about boxing and about writing from life experiences, and I can tell you this now, there are very few authors out there who are more passionate about what they do and where they came from than Gene O’Neill.

Meeting Weston Ochse was one the highlights of my trip to Los Angeles.  Weston is the author of the Bram Stoker Award-winning novel Scarecrow Gods and a self-professed Cowboy in the Boat of Ra.  We traveled the floor of the Staple Center for two days during the Book Expo America 2008 show, meeting other authors and talking about life and writing, and I had a great time.  Can’t wait to see all of you again.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

