ApolloCon 2009 Programming Guide Announced

ApolloOkay, I’m gearing up for Apollocon 2009 in Houston this coming weekend. I just received the programming guide and it looks like it’s going to be a great convention. The special guest of honor this year is Wil McCarthy and I’m really looking forward to meeting him.

Apollocon 2009 will run from Friday, June 26 to Sunday, June 28 at the DoubleTree Houston Intercontinental Airport and there are still rooms available.

Here’s a list of what I’ll be doing.

Friday, June 26:

7:00 pm to 8:00 pm – Opening Ceremonies

8:00 pm to 9:00 pm – “Raiders of the Lost Maguffin” This is a panel discussion on the appeal of action adventure novels. I’ll be sitting in with Rosemary Clement-Moore, Gail Dayton, and Tim Frayser. This will be in the Scottsdale Room.

Saturday, June 27:

11:00 am to 12:00 pm – “Modern Horror: The Changing Face of Fear” This is a panel discussion on current trends in horror fiction and how the genre is evolving. I’ll be sitting in with Lee Thomas, Linda Donahue, and Gabrielle S. Faust. This will be in the Tucson Room.

12:00 pm to 1:00 pm – “Writing 101” This is a panel discussion on the business of writing. I’ll be sitting in with Martha Wells, Bill Crider, Julie Kenner, and K.M. Tolan. This will be in the Seattle II Room.

4:00 pm to 5:00 pm – Autographs. I’ll be signing copies of my novels Dead City and Quarantined, plus several collections in which I’ve appeared, including History is Dead (Permuted Press), Potter’s Field 3 (Sam’s Dot Publishing), and Nights of Blood 2: More Tales of the Vampire (23 House Publishing). I’ll be sharing space at the autographing table with Lillian Stewart Carl and Gail Dayton. This, logically enough, will be at the autographing table.

5:00 pm to 6:00 pm – “YA Dark Fantasy: Beyond Twilight” This is a panel discussion on the present state of young adult dark fantasy. I’ll be sitting in with Gabrielle S. Faust, K. Hutson Price, and Lee Thomas. This will be in the Seattle II Room.

Sunday, June 28:

11:00 am to 12:00 pm – I’ll be reading from my latest novel, Quarantined. Lillian Stewart Carl will also be reading from her work. We will be reading in the Tucson Room.

1:00 pm to 2:00 pm – “Mythology Schmythology: Is Joseph Cambell Over-Used in Fantasy?” This is a panel discussion on the uses of mythology in speculative fiction, dealing especially with the map of the hero’s journey as made famous by Joseph Campbell’s landmark book The Hero With a Thousand Faces. I’ll be sitting in with A. Lee Martinez, Mel. White, K. Hutson Price, and Linda Donahue. I am ready to be a monomyth. This will be in the Seattle II Room.

I’ll be returning to San Antonio shortly after the Joseph Campbell panel, but I’ll probably grab a bite to eat first. I hope to see you all there.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

