The 2011 Shirley Jackson Awards Winners Announced!


2011 Shirley Jackson Awards Winners

Boston, MA (July 2012) — The 2011 Shirley Jackson Awards winners were announced on Sunday, July 15th 2012, at Readercon 23, Conference on Imaginative Literature, in Burlington, Massachusetts. Congratulations to all winners!

Previous years’ winners can be found here: 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007.



Witches on the Road Tonight, Sheri Holman (Grove Press)


  • The Devil All the Time, Donald Ray Pollock (Doubleday)
  • The Dracula Papers, Reggie Oliver (Chômu Press)
  • The Great Lover, Michael Cisco (Chômu Press)
  • Knock Knock, S. P. Miskowski (Omnium Gatherum Media)
  • The Last Werewolf, Glen Duncan (Canongate Books, Ltd.-UK / Alfred A. Knopf-US)



“Near Zennor,” Elizabeth Hand (A Book of Horrors, Jo Fletcher Books)


  • “And the Dead Shall Outnumber the Living,” Deborah Biancotti (Ishtar, Gilgamesh Press)
  • “A Child’s Problem,” Reggie Oliver (A Book of Horrors, Jo Fletcher Books)
  • “Displacement,” Michael Marano (Stories from the Plague Years, Cemetery Dance Publications)
  • The Men Upstairs, Tim Waggoner (Delirium Books)
  • “Rose Street Attractors,” Lucius Shepard (Ghosts by Gaslight, Harper Voyager)



“The Summer People,” Kelly Link (Tin House 49/Steampunk! An Anthology of Fantastically Rich and Strange Stories, Candlewick Press)


  • “The Ballad of Ballard and Sandrine,” Peter Straub (Conjunctions 56)
  • “Ditch Witch,” Lucius Shepard (Supernatural Noir, Dark Horse)
  • “The Last Triangle,” Jeffrey Ford (Supernatural Noir, Dark Horse)
  • “Omphalos,” Livia Llewellyn (Engines of Desire: Tales of Love & Other Horrors, Lethe Press)



“The Corpse Painter’s Masterpiece,” M. Rickert (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, Sept/Oct, 2011)


  • “Absolute Zero,” Nadia Bulkin (Creatures: Thirty Years of Monsters, Prime Books)
  • “Hair,” Joan Aiken (The Monkey’s Wedding and Other Stories, Small Beer Press/ The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, July/Aug, 2011)
  • “Max,” Jason Ockert (The Iowa Review 41/1)
  • “Sunbleached,” Nathan Ballingrud (Teeth, HarperCollins)
  • “Things to Know About Being Dead,” Genevieve Valentine (Teeth, HarperCollins)



After the Apocalypse: Stories, Maureen F. McHugh (Small Beer Press) 


  • The Corn Maiden and Other Nightmares, Joyce Carol Oates (Mysterious Press)
  • Engines of Desire: Tales of Love & Other Horrors, Livia Llewellyn (Lethe Press)
  • The Janus Tree, Glen Hirshberg (Subterranean Press)
  • Red Gloves, Christopher Fowler (PS Publishing)
  • What Wolves Know, Kit Reed (PS Publishing)



Ghosts by Gaslight, edited by Jack Dann and Nick Gevers (Harper Voyager)


  • Blood and Other Cravings, edited by Ellen Datlow (Tor)
  • A Book of Horrors, edited by Stephen Jones (Jo Fletcher Books)
  • Supernatural Noir, edited by Ellen Datlow (Dark Horse)
  • Teeth, edited by Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling (HarperCollins)
  • The Thackery T. Lambshead Cabinet of Curiosities, edited by Ann and Jeff VanderMeer (Harper Voyager)

The International Thriller Writers Association Announces the Winners of the 2012 Thriller Awards!

The 2012 Thriller Awards
During a gala banquet and celebration held on Saturday, July 14 at the Grand Hyatt in New York City, the International Thriller Writers announced the winners of the 2012 Thriller Awards.

They are:

Best Hard Cover Novel:
11/23/63, Stephen King 

Best Paperback Original Novel:
(Sphere/Little, Brown UK)

Best First Novel:
SPIRAL, Paul McEuen 
(The Dial Press)

Best Short Story:
HALF-LIVES, Tim L. Williams (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine)

Also receiving special recognition during the ThrillerFest VI Awards Banquet:

Jack Higgins, ThrillerMaster
in recognition of his legendary career and outstanding contributions to the thriller genre

Ann Rule, True Thriller Award

Richard North Patterson, Silver Bullet Award

The board of directors and members of the International Thriller Writers wish to congratulate all the winners and nominees of the 2012 Thriller Awards.


This is a special announcement for me. My good friend, Bruce Boston, was just named as the Poet Guest of Honor for the Bram Stoker Weekend in New Orleans in 2013. Bruce has been a big inspiration to me since I started writing professionally back in 2006, and I owe a good deal of my success to his support. Way to go, Bruce! I’m proud to see you get this honor!


The Horror Writers Association (HWA) is proud to announce Bruce Boston as Poet Guest of Honor for the Bram Stoker Awards™ Weekend 2013, to be held in New Orleans from 13-16 June 2013.

Bruce Boston is the author of fifty books and chapbooks, including the novels The Guardener’s Tale and Stained Glass Rain. His poetry and fiction have appeared in hundreds of publications, including Asimov’s SF Magazine, Amazing Stories, Weird Tales, Strange Horizons, Year’s Best Fantasy and Horror, and The Nebula Awards Showcase. One of the leading genre poets for more than a quarter century, Bruce has won a record four Bram Stoker Awards for Poetry, a record six Asimov’s Readers Awards for Poetry, and a record seven Rhysling Awards from the Science Fiction Poetry Association (SFPA). He received the first Grandmaster Award of the SFPA in 1999. His fiction has received a Pushcart Prize and been a finalist for the Bram Stoker Award for Superior Achievement in a Novel and the Micro Award for flash fiction. Bruce lives in Ocala, Florida, once known as the City of Trees, with his wife, writer-artist Marge Simon, and the ghosts of two cats. Visit his website at

HWA President Rocky Wood said, “Bruce is one of the most respected genre poets of recent decades. His work is original, compelling and challenging. We are pleased he has agreed to share his knowledge and experience as a poet with the Convention and I know attendees will be looking forward to his Guest of Honor panel and his readings. It will be interesting to hear him expound on how he composes across genres and also writes prose, including award nominated novels. As well as being highly awarded Bruce is well known for giving back to the genre through his active participation in the Horror Writers Association and tirelessly working to promote the poetic form.”

“We are proud to have a Poet Guest of Honor, which recognizes the importance poetry has always played in the horror genre and undoubtedly always will,” Wood added.

Bruce joins Ramsey Campbell, John Joseph Adams, Jeff Strand, Caitlin R Kiernan, Jonathan Maberry and Glenn Chadbourne in a stellar lineup of author, editor, poet and artist Guests.

The Bram Stoker Awards Weekend incorporating the World Horror Convention 2013 will be held at the Hotel Monteleone in New Orleans, Louisiana. The dedicated website is . The Horror Writers Association (, the peak group for horror writers, is also hosting World Horror Convention as part of our regular Weekend. The HWA is a worldwide organization promoting dark literature and its creators. Started in 1985, it has over 700 members writing professionally in fiction, nonfiction, videogames, film, poetry, comics, and other media.

Anita Siraki, Bram Stoker Awards Weekend 2013/WHC2013 Social Media Co-ordinator
Bruce Boston — Speculative Fiction & Poetry
Home Page of the speculative writer and poet Bruce Boston

%d bloggers like this: